I’ve been doing the happy dance here for the past two hours.  My first round of edits are officially finished and emailed back to my editor! Woooooohooooooo!  I feel kind of like this:

blue-fireworks_l( Photo credit: Tambako the Jaguar / Foter / CC BY-ND ).  Probably silly to authors who’ve been through this more than once.  But it’s another milestone for me, so I’m celebrating.  It may not be a huge one, not like getting an agent, or selling the book, but it’s still another step toward my finished, available-to-readers book, which thrills me.  As part of these edits, I got to write a dedication page.  I’ve been thinking and planning for years about all the things I’d need to do when the day came that I finally sold a book, but somehow, I never thought about book dedications.  Whoops.   I did finally decide what to do about this one, and I think it’s actually pretty good, but my editor says I’ll get a couple chances to tweak it before we’re finished, which is probably not a bad thing.

So now I’m thinking about my reward for finishing this round.  I’ll be moseying through the bakery tomorrow after I get off work and picking something tasty to indulge with.

I hope you’re all having a great week and find something worthy of a chocolate break.

 

 

